Hynds Paper of the Year 2024

The Hynds Paper Competition, kindly sponsored by Hynds Pipe Systems for 34 years now.

All Āpōpō members who have a paper accepted for presentation are eligible to enter the Hynds Paper Award.

Judges select the three best papers for presentation in the Hynds Pipe Systems Paper Session on the first day of the Congress. The winner will be decided by audience vote on the day. 


The winner of the 2024 Hynds Pipe Systems Award will attend and present their paper at the 2025 IPWEA Queensland annual conference (or equivalent conference), all expenses paid, including for their personal partner, to the total value of $6,000. The two runners up will each receive a $1,000 travel voucher.

Sincere thanks to Hynds Group for sponsoring this award annually since 1990.

Any queries, please feel free to contact us

The Hynds Award was established by John Hynds in 1990 to encourage Āpōpō members to improve their presentation skills, by presenting papers on asset management and engineering for infrastructure.

We’ve had more than 30 years of the Hynds Award – that’s more than 90 people who have had the opportunity to demonstrate and hone their presentation skills.

Hynds support is a significant contribution to the advancement of the Asset Management profession.

Previous Hynds Award Winners

Liam Foster, WSP 

Runners up, Dan ones, GHD and Jack Morris, WSP.

Emerging Professionals Presentation Competition

We also have our Emerging Professionals Presentation Competition – a space for members new to the industry to show off their presentation skills.

Emerging Professionals Presentation Competition winners

Winner, Lenna Quackenbush, GHD


Runner up, Kanishk Garg, WSP


Poster Competition 

Entries to the 2024 Āpōpō Congress Poster Competition were welcomed on any topic of relevance to the infrastructure asset management profession. 

Entries from Āpōpō student and emerging members were encouraged, although the competition was open to all Āpōpō members.

Poster Competition winner and runner up

Winner of Best Emerging Professional Poster and Best Overall Poster, Kate Baird, Westland District Council

Runner up of Best Emerging Professional Poster and Best Overall Poster Abdul Kaggwa, Waikato District Council

Āpōpō Asset Management Excellence Awards

Celebrating excellence in asset management

Āpōpō Scholarships

Scholarships designed to advance the careers of infrastructure asset management professionals

Kōmata o Te Rangi

The Āpōpō Supreme Infrastructure Asset Management Excellence Award