About Priyani de Silva-Currie Emerging Asset Management Professional Scholarship

Kate Baird, Westland District Council, receiving the Priyani de Silva-Currie Emerging Asset Management Professional Scholarship 2024

The Priyani de Silva-Currie Emerging Asset Management Professional Scholarship will provide the opportunity to complete approved asset management related courses up to the value of $5,000.  Approved courses include those provided by Āpōpō, Te Pūkenga, University of Auckland, IAM, WiPAM, APWA.

This annual scholarship provides the opportunity for an Āpōpō member to develop the skills and expertise necessary to enhance their asset management capability. Preference will be given to applicants of ethnic/cultural and gender or other groups who are poorly represented in the asset management profession.

Content of application:

  • A curriculum vitae (tailored CV to confirm roles, responsibilities and professional development).
  • Two written references in support of the application (referees may be contacted).
  • 300 word statement on why you should be chosen, and how the Emerging Asset Management Professional Scholarship will benefit you and your career in Asset Management. Please address the criteria (below).

Judging Criteria:

  • You will be an emerging asset management professional looking to develop your skills and expertise to advance your asset management capability.
  • You will be an active and engaged member of your community outside of your profession.
  • You will clearly articulate how this scholarship will advance the profession and your community’s interests.
  • All members with less than 10 years post tertiary work experience in asset management are encouraged to apply for this scholarship.


  • Applicants must be a current financial member of Āpōpō and be employed in an organisation that owns or is involved in the management of infrastructure assets.
  • Applicants must be available to complete their courses by April 2025. The recipient must provide a brief written report to Āpōpō.
  • Award recipients must register for and attend the 2025 Āpōpō Congress, and deliver a short presentation to delegates, reporting on their experience.

Previous recipients

What's on offer

Our Excellence Awards and competitions are designed to recognise excellence in asset management projects.

Āpōpō Asset Management Excellence Awards

Celebrating excellence in asset management

Kōmata o Te Rangi

The Āpōpō Supreme Infrastructure Asset Management Excellence Award


See what other competitions we will have running at The Āpōpō Congress