Congratulations to the recently announced finalists for the Hynds Best Paper Awards 2021. They are:

  • David Pattinson, Engineering Manager at McConnell Dowell – with his paper: Daldy Street Outfall
  • John Tetteroo, Principal Engineer at GHD Limited, co-presenting with Veenay Rambisheswar, Senior Manager, Auckland Transport – with their paper: Prioritising Road Water Quality Outcomes to Deliver Safe Waterways and Harbours
  • Rebekah Robertson, Disaster Risk and Resilience Specialist, copresenting with Alex Cartwright, Climate Change, Risk, & Emergency Management Consultant – both of Tonkin + Taylor, with their paper: How to communicate risk when it feels like no one is listening.

These three papers will be presented at Future-Fit Aotearoa in the Hynds Pipe Systems Paper plenary session at 3:20pm on Tuesday September 7th, with the winner decided by audience vote.

The Hynds Paper Competition, kindly sponsored by Hynds Pipe Systems for 32 years now, is designed to encourage IPWEA NZ members to improve their presentation skills by presenting papers on asset management and engineering in infrastructure.

The winner of the 2021 Hynds Pipe Systems Award and partner, will attend the 2021 IPWC conference (Adelaide, 31 October – 4 November 2021) to present the winning paper – all expenses paid. The prize for each of the 2 runners up is an Air New Zealand 2-day Deluxe Mystery Break for 2, or equivalent air travel.

The 2018 Winner, Irmana Garcia Sampedro, has this to say about the Award:

The Hynds paper Award is a fantastic challenge for IPWEA NZ members to improve their communication skills. As an engineer, I believe it is very important to be able to communicate effectively with technical people but also with non-technical people, especially these days when we need to improve community understanding and acceptance of risk.  Winning the award gives you confidence and a reputation as a speaker, and the experience of presenting at the IPWEA Queensland conference as part of the Award – was fantastic.”

A huge thank you to judges Nic Johanssen, GM of Infrastructure at Tauranga City Council and Jason Roberts, innovation Manager at Fletchers Construction.